Pass the Baton!

2 baton.jpg

A couple of weeks ago I listened to a charismatic speaker who was addressing a small group of people. I was a little pre-occupied, I had just started this blog and the big question on my mind at the time was, why do I think I should write a blog when there are so many others out there writing far more powerful stuff than me? People who are deeply knowledgeable about the faith, know their Bible well and are incredible thinkers as evidenced by their writings. There are so many voices in the wilderness, what does one more mean? My question to the Lord, was; Why me, why now and what can I possibly contribute to the blogosphere that isn’t already out there?

Today, in my prayer time I asked the Lord, what do you want me to do now?

And then I remembered the speaker and his talk so many weeks ago… at that time I was startled at the realization that the Lord had actually answered my question right there and then. Sometimes the response is pretty quick!

“Pass the baton!”. The speaker said, and explained that the baton symbolizes the Kingdom of God. The baton was given to John the Baptist who went about preaching of the One who was to come that was more powerful than he, and he wasn’t worthy to untie His sandals. The baton was then handed to Jesus who came to earth to complete His divine ministry at the will of the Father. Jesus handed the baton to His disciples. The disciples gave the baton to all believers, with the expectation to pass it on to others. Who are these believers?

It is us. You and me, and all who believe in Christ. It is up to us to take it firmly, use our talents while we have it, and work for the Kingdom of God in whichever way we are called to do so.

I personally know of a lot of people who believe that it is enough to be okay with God and stop right there. But I’ve come to realize, if you have the Good News, you can’t keep it to yourself, you have to share it. Sharing is caring!

This blog is a vehicle to pass my baton. I never thought I could write. I always wanted to but never had anything to say. But now that I’ve started, I can’t seem to stop. I find inspiration everywhere. While I’m doing the dishes, cooking or watching TV. It’s amazing how ideas come through and I have to write it down immediately or it’s gone. My mind is a sieve, honestly.

My remembrance of this event today, reaffirmed what the Lord wanted me to do now. Spread His Word. I hope to use this blog to share the news of God’s love, grace and mercy. This avenue has the potential to reach far more people than I would otherwise meet which makes it so effective.

So, pass the baton! Find your talent, and use it to accomplish His will for you.

Romans 10:13-14 For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching?
Matthew 28:19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.
Psalm 96:3 Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples!
Jeremiah 26:2 “Thus says the Lord: Stand in the court of the Lord’s house, and speak to all the cities of Judah that come to worship in the house of the Lord all the words that I command you to speak to them; do not hold back a word.”
Mark 16:15 And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation”.
Acts 1:8 “but you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”
James 5:19-20 My brothers, if anyone among you wanders from the truth and someone brings him back, let him know that whoever brings back a sinner from his wandering will save his soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.
Image | This entry was posted in Sharing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

