A Perfect Day!

pray-hope-and-dont-worry

 

When my daughter was young, but old enough to learn to say a morning prayer, I had to come up with something easy and short that she would be able to remember. So I put together a simple one that went like this;

Good morning Heavenly Father, Good morning Lord Jesus, Good morning Mother Mary. I love you. Give me a perfect day, Amen.

And as I said it every day with her, curiosity made me reflect on this during my morning commute to work. It took me 45 minutes each way so I had ample time to review what the ‘perfect day’ looked like. I was pleasantly surprised to learn, that the perfect day was filled with the usual problems, in other words, an ordinary day.

  • Crazy mornings, rushing to work, disgruntled co-workers, unreal work deadlines.
  • Traffic chaos.
  • Snow in the mornings that meant I had to get up way earlier to clean the car that my husband had not put in the garage.
  • A cranky child in the morning who had to be rushed, dressed and put on the school bus.
  • Facing an angry boss, computers not working. Etc. etc.

Problems that everyone faces at one time or another. I was not left un-frazzled but went through the day knowing that I would be able to deal with everything. A sort of knowing that someone was looking over my shoulder to help me get through the day, that ‘this too shall pass”. As I drove home from work, I was at peace, that all the events during the day were dealt with. Somehow, God gave me the patience and the grace to face each problem squarely and come up with a solution. And, I realized a perfect day didn’t mean I would be free of issues. Rather, it meant a peaceful end to my day.

A perfect day – God gives me just enough happenings that I can handle, with some left over, that makes every day a little bit different!

Hebrews 13:6 so we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?”
John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.
Psalm 55:22 cast your burden on the LORD, and He will sustain you; He will never permit the righteous to be moved.
1 Peter 5:7 casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.
Psalm 56:3 when I am afraid, I put my trust in You.
Psalm 121:1-2 I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

